I will make it here or there


25097_1402845230505_1213566737_31163195_745927_n

I have an uphill journey to make America my home, although the quest has been like of a wounded tortoise thats trying to make it to the river. To me its been more of a test of patience, and let my attorney do her best. I have given up so much to be here. I have nothing, ever since I was a toddler, my life was never my own. I live a life of what I am destined to be, an Orkoiyot monk warrior, for it is all I know, ever knew and ever had and always have.

Sometimes I want to give up, and go back to where it all began and live a humble and quiet life that I’m destined to as a warrior, but in the back of my mind a voice always says life is a journey and because you have tasted it, you will not be able to settle there, and hunger to travel will haunt your conscience no matter what cave or forest you hide in. So I asked myself is it worth it to be known all over the world and not by my son, and the answer has always been a resounding NO.

Just like running a marathon, I must hang on a little more longer, the mind must remember the finish-line is closer. The steps along the way may be many like the days, months or years to get there, but if I don’t give up, I will get to the finish-line. In this long race of life I am not the only one climbing a hill or hurting the most, someone somewhere, whether in front of me or behind me is hurting worse than me. To finish this race I must rely on those around me, tag along and become friends, support each other to the sweeter end. I am not the first one to go through this path and I won’t be the only one nor the last one. I must fight and finish this journey because there is no telling how great of a life awaits me when I get there. My soul might have been fractured, but my spirit is hardened and strong. Just like I do not know how long I am going to live in this life, I show what I yearn for the same fate. Things come when they come, all we have to do is push closer to them and surrounding ourselves with the right people.

Every time I gaze around my life I notice that since I could remember, friends have always been closer and in my life than my family has. It is sad  but I don’t know how, for if they were or not I think I still be surrounded by many friends. – So the other day my attorney sent me to see a counselor to talk with and it was fun having him to ask me questions about my life as part which will help me get Citizenship, it got emotional at times, but my warrior side rose up to remind me that I have many friends. If you’re one of them, Thank you.

Most people have had the privilege of being raised by their parents but not me, and I have never allowed that empty part of my life bring me weakness, anger or sadness. For ever since I was a very young boy, being who I needed is all I have ever done for it is what I was taught a warrior should be, I was told this state of mind has willed and hardened warriors like me who were here before me. 

This life is what you make it. No matter what, you’re going to mess up sometimes, it’s a universal truth. But just remember, some friends come, some friends go. The ones that stay with you through everything – they’re your true friends. Don’t let go of them.  You’re going to come across people in your life who will say all the right words at all the right times. But in the end, it’s always their actions you should judge them by.

It’s actions, not words, that matter. The things you do for yourself are gone when you are gone, but the things you do with and for others remain as your legacy. I think if I’ve learned anything about friendship, it’s to hang in, stay connected, fight for them, and let them fight for you. Don’t walk away, don’t be distracted, don’t be too busy or tired, don’t take them for granted. Friends are part of the glue that holds life and faith together.

Leave a Reply

